Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships

The Ohio County Community Foundation will award one 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship  in December 2019.  The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides full tuition for four years ( 8 consecutive semesters) of undergraduate study on a full time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree, all required fees, and up to $900 per year for books and equipment at an accredited Indiana public or private college/university.  Rising Sun High School seniors meeting the scholarship criteria are invited to apply.  The application deadline is Friday, August 23, 2019 at 3:00 p.m.  The scholarship criteria is as listed:

  • Applicant must be a current resident of Ohio County.
  • Applicant must be a current member of the 2020 graduating class of the Rising Sun High School and graduate from Rising Sun High School.
  • Applicant must complete all graduation requirements by June 30, 2020.
  • Applicant must have a minimum of 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale based on the final sixth semester of high school.
  • Applicant must plan to pursue a four-year baccalaureate course of study on a full-time basis beginning the fall of 2020 at an accredited public or private Indiana college or university.
  • Applicant must have taken the SAT and/or the ACT and provide proof of scores on their high school transcript.  The highest scores recorded on the applicant’s high school transcript will be considered.
  • Applicant must be accepted to an Indiana college or university by April 30, 2020.
  • Applicant may not apply if they are a lineal relative to include children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, step-grandchildren, parent, step-child, child-in-law, etc. to an employee of the Ohio County Community Foundation or to a person serving as a Committee member or Board member of the Ohio County Community Foundation.  In order for a lineal relative, above, to be eligible for a scholarship award, the Board member, Committee member, or Staff member must have resigned their position with OCCF at least 18 months prior to     June 1 of the year in which the award is made.
  • Applicants chosen as one of the top five finalists must attend a personal interview by the Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee.
  • Selection criteria will include Academics, Activities/Employment, Community Service, College Plans, Essay, Financial Need and a Personal Interview of the top 5 applicants.



money iconAmount: Full Tuition, Required Fees and an annual book stipend.

date icon Scholarship Deadline: Expires within 24hrs - Friday August 23rd, 2019 3:00pm

Past Winners

  • 2019- Jena Bovard
  • 2018 - Jayden McAlister
  • 2017 - Jessica Koons
  • 2016 - Kelsey Romans
  • 2015 - Jake Uhlmansiek
  • 2014 - Austin Martin
  • 2013 - Alyson Minks
  • 2012 - Kelsey Baillie